EVE Blog Banter #18: Evolution

24/06/2010

Welcome to the eighteenth instalment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by none other than me, CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

On May 6th 2010, EVE Online celebrated its 7th Anniversary. Quite a milestone in MMO history, especially considering that it is one of the few virtual worlds out there to see its population continually grow year after year. For some of you who’ve been here since the very beginning, EVE has evolved quite a lot since its creation. With the expansion rolling out roughly twice a year, New Eden gets renewed and improved regularly. But, how about you the player? How has your gaming style evolved through the years or months since you’ve started playing? Have you always been a carebear, or roleplayer? Have you only focused on PvP or have you given other aspects of the game a chance – say manufacturing. Let’s hear your story!

—-

Much like the Eve universe I have evolved as an Eve player. I started playing Eve Online in 2006 so I wasn’t in anywhere near the beginning, but I’ve been around log enough to know what’s what. Eve was the first and only MMORPG of it’s kind I have played (that’s right, I have never played WoW!!!).

Although I have spent the greatest part of my Eve time as a low-sec Pirate, believe it or not I was completely against the idea of Piracy when I first started out. My first Character back in 2006 was 100% Carebear first trained as a miner, then later as a mission runner. For quite a while I played solo not really seeing much need to be part of a corporation, but then I realised that I was holding myself back from learning the intricacies of Eve Online. There is a LOT to learn in this game and while much can be learnt by reading guides people have written, there is a lot more to be  picked up by interacting with other Eve players .

I joined a Carebear Corp where I quickly filled in the gaps in my knowledge when it came to Mining and Mission running, and in a short period I was promoted as a Director responsible for the Corp mission runners. At the time I found the whole idea of attacking other players and destroying their hard earned possessions abhorrent. I wondered why anyone would want to cause others suffering in a game.

The corp  I was in regularly received wardecs from various groups and individuals, but they rarely caused any disruption to our daily lives. That was until we got wardeced by Error666 (a highsec ‘pirate’ corp)and they actively prayed on our members which led to much disruption on our operations. The corp by now had reached a decent size and it was decided that we would try and fight back. The only problem being that just a few members had actual PvP experience, so we lost in a big way.

The upshot of this ass whooping experience was that it was actually quite fun to shoot at other players and I decided that I would take a closer look at PvP, maybe I could become an Pirate hunter. Except that it’s not that easy for a Carebear trained character to take part in PvP so it made sense to create a new Character specifically designed for PvP and Kaya Valda was born.

During the period of time to get Kaya up to a decent level I maintained my Carebear character, but soon she was able to fly a good ship with a decent fit and dive into the world of PvP (I focused her training on being able to fit and fly a Crow. This was back when they were solo pwnmobiles). I researched where the Pirates hung out and went in search of action in the belief that I could do my bit for taking on the scum of Eve.

I quickly found that most Pirates were good pilots, and certainly a lot better at PvP that me. Of course flying a Crow meant that I could get away when I was losing, even if I wasn’t actually making any kills myself. I had read about a system by the name of Rancer where many people complained of being attacked by Pirates, so I went to investigate. On arrival I found a system full of -10 ne’er-do-wells, many of whom were congregated on a gate. Not liking the sheer number of flashy ships I quickly moved on through to nearby Otou where I found some possible targets.

Unfortunately for my first Crow my first target turned out to be one Larconis Trassler, also in a Crow. It was quickly apparent he was a far better pilot than I, with a pimped out ship. I ran for my life and escaped to a safe spot, but what I didn’t know was that Larconis was busy scanning me out (I didn’t even know it was possible to do that at the time). Within a minute of my escape he warped in on top of me and taught me my first PvP lesson – Don’t sit at a safe doing 0 m/s. He quickly had me locked, scrammed and exploded.

This encounter led on to a bit of conversation in local and it struck me for the first time that Pirates are not real life sociopaths living out their twisted dreams in Eve, but they were just normal, nice people playing a computer game. Larconis explained to me that anti-piracy really just doesn’t work in Eve and a day later I join the Neo Spartans and I found myself to be what I had previously hated – a Pirate.

Larconis and the other members of the Neo Spartans taught me everything I now know about PvP and Piracy. After a few months I became a trusted member of the corp and was given a Director’s position.

There isn’t the space here to go into detail about what I got up to as a pirate (read the rest of my blog posts), but what I can say is that PvP really is the pinacle of what Eve is meant to be. It really is a sandbox game and I have tried virtually every aspect of it now (I had 4 accounts with alts covering trading, missions, mining, exploration, capital ships and manufacturing) and I have to say that PvP is by fun the most fun part of my Eve experience.

But then my Eve experience all went a bit off the rails. Member activity in the Neo Spartans dropped suddenly, and a lot of members left to do other things which meant hours of ship spinning. By the beginning of 2010 I had decided to take a break from Eve which has lasted some 7 months up until last weekend. I have no idea what the trigger was, but I decided to reactivate one of my accounts.

I’m now in the position where I am probably going to have to evolve again for my next step in Eve. maybe I’ll find another decent pirate corp to join (although they seem increasingly rare) or maybe I’ll look at doing something different (Mercenary or 0.0 stuff), but I am at a crossroads at this time and have no idea where the next Eve chapter will take me.


Leave a Reply

