War in hiatus/Take more care

25/03/2009

The war with The United has ceased for the time being. The United’s tactic of napping everything that moves has meant that either we were getting blobbed when their friends were online, or they remained docked up when numbers were anything close to approaching equal (for equal read 2-1 in their favour). It’s a shame it has come to this as we were really looking forward to taking on The United head to head and were sure it would be pretty equal even though they have more the twice the number of members that Neo Spartans have.

Basically we have had a better offer and have moved our operations out of Otou. But mark my words we will be back to sort The United out at some point, when they least expect it, and hopefully when all their ‘friends’ have got bored with having no one to fight. It’s only a matter of time before their naps turn on them for entertainment instead (they were fighting most of them before the napfest).

Instead we are working with some other pirate corps in an area around Caldari and Gallente Faction Warfare, which is completely different to what we are used to. For a start the FW guys like to fly around in large gangs, usually in small ships, but sometimes large BS gangs. It means we have to be far more careful of what we are doing when out and about on our own.

A good example of this came up last night. 4 or 5 of us travelled in the direction of Old Man Star to see what fights we could get. We were in a mixture of frigate and cruiser sized T1 and T2 ships and the journey was a little quieter that we were expecting. Eventually we had some fun with the locals in Heydieles before deciding to return to our home system.

We had to jump through a huge gang fight on one of the gates but after that the journey was pretty uneventful again. I needed to take a bio break and docked up in Deven while the rest of the gang continued home. It was when I got back to my ship and undocked that I became careless .

Forgetting that my destination was still set to Old Man Star I warped to the yellow gate on my overview. As I arrived on the gate there was a frigate on the gate. The guys on Vent were saying that the systems ahead were clear and I just wanted to get back to base however so didn’t really want to get a global counter again. I jumped right through to….. Fliet….. It was at this point I realised my mistake and I was going the wrong direction.  I’m not familiar with Fliet and didn’t have any bookmarks there so as I arrived on the other side of the gate I looked for something to warp to before returning to the gate and get on my way home. Before I had even uncloaked something bad happened.

A FW fleet arrived on the gate and before I knew it there were 20+ ships right on top of me. I realised that the was little point in me trying to warp away as I would surely die so I maintained cloak as long as possible in the hope that they didn’t realise I was there and jump through the gate. I guess the frigate I’d seen on the other side however had been their scout and they waited. Eventually I could wait no longer before my cloak was to expire and made a break for it, but unfortunately for me they had a lot of fast locking ships and I was toast in a matter of seconds. Bye bye my T2 fit Cerburus, I barely got to know you.

My undoing was a mixture of my lack of care with a good dose of bad luck by being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Had I warped as soon as I jumped through the gate I’d have been in warp before the blob had landed on the gate, but I was wrong footed by needing to think about the best way to turn around and go back through the gate I had just come through. Of course I shouldn’t have been there in the first place and it is a good reminder of the importance of checking the destination before undock. A bit more care and I’d have saved myself from losing a 200M ISK ship.

One Response to “War in hiatus/Take more care”

  1. […] w-space. In the land of the carebears, we can but dream of a drug induced death as our autopilot sends us in the wrong direction. […]

Leave a Reply

